Hi! It’s me again. Your muse.


The other day I noticed a faint knocking inside my head.
‘Hi! Dave here. I’ve come to inspire you.’
Ah – so he’s learning. Dave, my muse, that is.
– I had a word with him recently about always hitting me with what feels like a baseball bat. I told him it was no use beating some of my brain cells to death each time he calls. After all, he’d be homeless when there are none left. He blushed (well, I suppose so because he’s invisible) and said he was terribly sorry and promised to work on it. ‘I’m a little bit clumsy sometimes.’ Brilliant. A clumsy muse. With a baseball bat. I’m the lucky one. -
Now, let’s hear what he wants.
‘I wonder what became of the machine stitched piece I made you do a while ago. What was it called again … Palimpsest.’ *
‘Well, I put it onto the samples pile because I had no idea how to go on – or you hadn’t. I thought of some fancy machine stitching around the edges, maybe embroider or appliqué an initial, but didn’t find the right stuff.’
‘Doesn’t sound too bad. Do it then.’
Great. Doesn’t listen either. ‘I didn’t find the right stuff.’
‘Did you check the internet?’
‘Yup.’
‘Nothing?’
‘No.’
‘I see. – Then we’ll have to improvise.’
(We?) ‘But isn’t that cheating?
‘No, it’s inspiration. No one will notice. – Let’s go check for material.’
After a quick search we had this.

I’ll show you how it turned out sometime later. The embroidery may take a while.

*a piece of parchment that has the original writing removed for re-use, with some of the old letters sometimes still slightly visible

2 thoughts on “Hi! It’s me again. Your muse.

What do you think?

